When cleaning and budgeting makes you happy


Today was a beautiful, sunny and productive day! I slept in, and sleeping is pretty rare for me lately. Then I had a coffee and began to clean the house. It takes me a significant amount of time to do this. Sometimes I don’t ever complete it. 

I started in the bathrooms as my son is sick and because my immune system is compromised everything must be, for the most part, germ free. Normally I skip cleaning the bathtub because it is hard for me to do, but today I managed to complete this as well. 

Then I took a break and took apart the vacuum cleaner so I could clean it (dust and dog hair all over a vacuum kind of defeats its cleaning value). I vacuumed upstairs and put the dishes in the dishwasher. Then I took another break.

My son was sick all day Monday but went to school today. I picked him up to take him to work. He said he still felt seagull but wanted to go to work anyway. I dropped him off and went back home. 

Since I cannot mop the floors with a mop well and was sore from vacuuming, I hand washed them. It took 3 hours, but it got done. And I wiped all the switches and handles in the house with Lysol wipes. 

When my hubby came home we splurged and went out for dinner. It was a nice treat. We have been doing very well on our budget, and still have a fair amount of money left considering there is only 12 days left in the month. It is a good sign 🙂

After supper hubby helped me make turkey stew and turkey noodle soup that we froze for dinners later. I feel like I really accomplished things today. Hoping tomorrow will be just as great. Thankful. 

Leave a Reply

