Trusting the path chosen for me


Life in our house has been challenging at times. Almost 4 years ago now we moved to this house. We bought this house with a downpayment that was made by saving income I made and living out of jars with my husband’s income (what was left after the bills were paid). Our mortgage is higher than our rent, and after we moved my injury worsened causing higher medical bills. I am working now, so we have lost my disability payments. We spent money we didn’t have, and now I find myself forced to follow a budget and go back to our jars.

I am not complaining. We don’t do without. Our bills are always paid. But my daughter wants to go back to school, my son graduates and begins college soon, my husband put his school on hold, and I would love to complete my degree at some point. Added to this, we are waiting to hear if my husband is going to have to move for work. Talk about moving or retiring, these things concern me.

I am trying to trust God in this. I am trying to listen – to know what to do. I have voiced that I love my job and am not wanting to leave it, and my husband doesn’t want me too either. But do I let him go if he has to and just see him when he is off? Would I want to live apart to keep something for me? Am I being selfish?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

Leave a Reply

